Time to Move Your Furniture

Image

Image by: discover.realestate.com.au

My parents built a home in 2000.  I know that place like the back of my hand.  I can easily walk through the house in the dark.  Why?  Because the furniture never moves.  The couches are stationary, beds stay in the same place and the world might come to an end if I move a plant.  My parents liked that everything had a place and go by “If it’s not broke, don’t fix it”.  

Now me being their child, I’m the complete opposite.  I’ve lived in my home four years and arranged my bedroom furniture at least six times.  Couches change places every few months.  I even trade my dining room and kitchen tables just to see how I like it.  I remember the first time my husband and I decided to move the couches.  We were both nervous because neither of our parents move their furniture.  Then a light bulb came on…We’re grown! We are not going to know if we like it unless we try and hey, it takes about five minutes.  If we didn’t like it, we could try something else.

Which are you when it comes to reaching your target audience?  Do you go with the “If it’s not broke” method or “Never know unless you try”?  Keep in mind that although your marketing and advertising methods worked great in the 1980s, times have changed and so has your target market.  Their needs are different.  For example, if you were a hotel advertising to business people in the ‘80s, you would probably highlight your friendly customer check-in and your business center with a fax machine.  Today, it’s all about Wi-Fi, convenience and speed.  

Travel among Women, Asian-Americans, Hispanics and African Americans have risen significantly in recent years and continuing to soar.  The Asian-American population is projected to increase by 31 percent between 2010 and 2020.  At 47 percent, Asian-Americans reported the highest share of hotel/B&B stays in 2010 with Hispanic travelers second at 42 percent.  These numbers are steadily increasing and in order for advertisers to effectively capture the attention of the growing population, their advertising to reflect each group’s needs.  

Sources: Suzanne Cook Consulting, LLC; U.S. Travel Association; U.S. Travel/Ypartnership travelhorizonsTM; TNS Travels America; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Leave a Reply

