Calling All Creative Sultans…..Is this a great job or what?

Where do ideas come from? Beats the heck out of me. Yet, I make a living coming up with ideas. I usually find my best ideas happen when I’m actually trying not to think about them. I’ll hit the project hard at the beginning and walk away and let it marinate…let my subconscious do the work. I could be washing my truck and then Bammmm! There’s an idea at the bottom of the soap bucket that might not be half bad. The trick is to find out what works for you….and when the ideas start flowing never leave that warm fire. You may be searching for wood the next time you sit down to think.

There’s something to be said about creating something out of a blank page.Hemingway called it the “White Bull”. I call it the next project due in a couple days with expectations through the roof. It’s that adrenaline rush that heeds my call.

Over the course of my career I’ve observed numerous creatives (myself included) looking into the blank page with some tendency of fear. When a big idea is conceived and everyone, including the client, is onboard you feel like a creative sultan. That feeling usually lasts as long as the next project. You see it doesn’t appear to matter how many awards we’ve won or how often we’ve accomplished the impossible…we’ll eventually find ourselves staring at a blank page again looking hard for answers. You see, a small amount of fear is part of the creative process.

The important thing is to believe that you will prevail in the end. There’s no better feeling than solving the problem that once seemed impossible. What you’ve created from that blank page now seems like the obvious solution. After all, you are a creative sultan.

2 responses to “Calling All Creative Sultans…..Is this a great job or what?

  1. I understand your every word completely. For me though creativity kind of puts me in a trance. As you said it’s best when it is started unintentionally, but then I quickly notice that something is beginig to build, that is when I fall under the spell and enter the trance. It’s purely magical!

  2. I would have to agree that great ideas seem to come from the darndest places. I was actually at a nightclub far away from my desk and laptop when the term “Trainsportation” popped into my head. Thankfully for me (and Amtrak), there was a napkin and the bartender with a pen nearby. Great blog! — The Most Interesting Copywriter @ IMAGES

Leave a Reply

